Creativity – Remix

We were shown an article called Remix by Lawrence Lessig, ‘Making Art and Commerce Thrive in the Hybrid Economy’

I disagree with what happened with the mum who shared the video of her 18-month-old baby dancing to a song. She shared it on YouTube to show her friends and family with a certain song in the background, not like she put the music over the top it was all natural and like they said, no one was going to copy or download her video to get Princes song off of it. There were other noises like the mum speaking and the baby making noises that were mixed in as well. The copyright laws in that regards is in my opinion wrong and there should be some kind of contextual part of it where it protects people from this type of action as social media and video sharing these days is becoming more of the normal thing to do for private reasons as well as professional.

DJ Equipment Guide: How to Build a Beginner DJ Setup

I 100% agree that there are not many original ideas out there or can’t be as history is just a click away on your phone or computer and everyone is influenced in some form of a sway. A lot of people don’t realise how ideas come through their subconscious and there is no ‘light bulb’ moment really and that when their subconscious is working, they have no control over it. It is influenced by their life story. Everything they have ever seen or heard or smelt or touched is in the memory bank and all their subconscious thoughts are being pushed through that to come to the frontal lobe and give the person their idea so they can put it on paper to bring to life.

Culture has a huge impact on a lot of things people do in their day to day lives and how they think and their beliefs and values which to some degree stumps creativity. I can attest that my parents weren’t overly supportive of anything creative that I was interested in and only made me focus on physical things like sport or music or life skills to get a good job not to be me and who I wanted to be. Thankful these days that I have an amazing wife who is supportive and gives me space to grow myself I can try new things and embrace the different.

Published by jepsonnathan

I'm 30 years old, married to my beautiful wife Naomi who has given me the most amazing little family. I am a father to 2 babies, Oliver, 4 and Gracie, 2 with our 3rd baby on the way. I am currently studying my Cert III in Screen and Media at Tafe NSW. This blog is apart of one of my units to help with my Critical Thinking.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started