Develop and Extend Critical and Creative Thinking skills Course review

For me this class definitely helped me to extend my critical thinking, however I really wanted to focus used mainly on developing my Creative Thinking as I don’t regard myself as a very creative person and need a push in the right direction to unlock my own riches of creativity.

The use of a brain dump has become my favourite tool that I have gained from doing this course, as you can tell by the name of my blog site.

The idea that there is no original ideas anyone came as a shock to me, not in the sense you may think though. People can still have new and creative ideas however they are no longer really original as all ideas are inspired by all things we have ever experienced, seen, heard, touched or smelt. This is where it gets interesting.

I learnt that the subconscious plays a big role for idea creation. Our frontal cortex of our brain is where ideas come to fruition but before this our ideas stem from the subconscious mind. We think about things all the time, when we are awake and doing things and when we are asleep, its always working.

In our subconscious mind we find that it has access to all our memories, even the ones we cant consciously remember. Our ideas have pre-access to everything we’ve ever seen, been told, listened to, experienced and taught. Its basically a direct link to our subconscious values and belief system that we have grown up with, which includes all them movies and books we’ve seen or read, all the music we’ve ever listened to. The people we have met or fantasised about meeting.

So when we have an idea that no one else has had we technically cant call it an original idea as we have been influenced and inspired by something or someone. Just because we don’t realise this doesn’t make it right or wrong, its just eye opening.

Published by jepsonnathan

I'm 30 years old, married to my beautiful wife Naomi who has given me the most amazing little family. I am a father to 2 babies, Oliver, 4 and Gracie, 2 with our 3rd baby on the way. I am currently studying my Cert III in Screen and Media at Tafe NSW. This blog is apart of one of my units to help with my Critical Thinking.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started